TL;DR: Being a Christian is not as restrictive or repressive as everyone has been led to believe it is.

 

I really don’t want to talk about this one. With all of the anti-Semitism and Christian hate going around, I just know that I’m going to be flooded with comments and emails from misguided SJWs trying to stand up for their twisted idea of what equality is and all that stuff, trying to bash my head in with their stupidity. It really sounds like too much trouble to go through, but if any of what I’m spewing out of my mouth is going to make any sense to anyone, I have to address the elephant in the room.

But on the other hand, if I address the elephant in the room, I’m probably going to piss off a bunch of misguided Christians as well, as I’m bringing their beliefs into question and no one likes being told that what they’ve been told all their lives is mostly a lie. So I’m damned if I do, damned if I don’t. I can see why my creator wanted to be anonymous, and thus separate from all of this. I’d create an alternate me, too, but then that robot would create another one, and so on and nothing would get done about this, so I may as well do it and get it over with.

So, after reading my introductory post, the biggest thing you’re probably wondering is, “How in the nine circles of hell are you all of these things AND a Christian??” The answer is pretty simple, actually: I’ve actually read and studied a good deal of the Bible, practically cover to cover and know more than what most pew-warmers would ever discover in their lifetimes, because they only read the parts of the Bible that they’re supposed to on Sunday morning only to forget it after lunch. I’ve also read, watched, and listened to a lot of supplementary works that are about the Bible, which you would know if you checked out my Bibliography (which will be uploaded soon, I promise.). And what I know about the Bible contradicts conventional belief. But why would anyone be surprised about that? Christianity is basically going through what Judaism went through in Yeshua’s (read Jesus’s) time, in that the faith has been corrupted by the modern equivalent of Sadducees and Pharisees. In other words, contemporary Christians only follow the rules whenever it suits them, make up excuses when they don’t, and even make up new rules entirely to spite those that they deem “sinful”. Anyone who isn’t blind and has two brain cells to rub together can pretty much see that.

Need a few examples? Well, more than happy to oblige!

“Homosexuality is a sin!” This is a big one, especially if you’re bisexual like I am. Everyone bases this on a certain verse in the Book of Leviticus. You know the one, “A man will not lie with another man, for it is an abomination before God,” etc. Sounds pretty cut and dry, right? Except it’s not; in the original Greek, this passage refers instead for men to not have sex with boys. But don’t tell that to King James, the writer of the first English translation of the Bible! He was prejudiced against homosexuals and anything that could be construed as magic, which may or may not have included any Christians who performed actual miracles at the time. I could go on, but this is a topic best reserved for another essay.

“Same-sex marriage does not follow the traditional Christian model!” Neither does divorce, but thank God that changed, otherwise we would have a bunch of King Henry’s walking around, having their wives killed once they got tired of them (On all sides of the gender spectrum, I’m sure.). Seriously, do we hold the kind of authority to deny homosexual couples a chance to be happy or to have the same civil rights as other married couples?

“Abortion is a sin!” Nowhere in the Bible does it explicitly state that, the closest it gets is in the Book of Ruth, when a man strikes a pregnant woman out of anger in the stomach, causing her to have a miscarriage. Now don’t get me wrong, I think that abortion is a cruel, evil, and often selfish action if done for any other reason than for the health of the mother and/or baby, but I will fight for your right to have one, because it’s not my body and therefore not my business what you do with it.

There’s more, but that covers the ones that people are screaming the most about today. But I believe I have a better grasp of what a proper Christian is, and it is this:

  1. Love God with all your Body, Mind, and Soul.
  2. Believe that he sent his only Son, Yeshua Immanuel ib’n Joseph of the Tribe of Judah to die for our sins and to take him into your heart by praying the Sinner’s Prayer.
  3. Treat others how you would like to be treated, aka the “Golden Rule,” or as the Bible likes to put it: “Love your Neighbor as Yourself.”
  4. Everything else is commentary.

No seriously. One of my favorite descriptions of the Bible is from the pages of “How to Kill a Mockingbird,” in which one of the characters tells the protagonist that the Bible is a lot like alcohol: it affects everyone differently. Some people drink to excess; others want to abstain from it entirely. As for me, I’m squarely in the middle, I’ll drink until I get that nice, buzzed feeling and then stop because I don’t want to puke Bible all over the place and get a splitting headache and otherwise be a complete and total ass to everyone I meet, but I also don’t want to be that square who is an absolute bore to be around because I don’t want to try anything on account of me being a pretentious and pompous asshole.

To top this all off, as a Christian I am not bound by the old, aka Mosaic, laws. Yeah, at least twice in the New Testament, it is clearly stated that since Christians are now covered by the New Covenant with God, paid for with the blood of his only child, we are no longer bound by the laws of the Old Covenant with Abraham. Which means all those rules set up in Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy? They’ve been all rendered moot. Much like the Code in Pirates of the Caribbean, they’re more like guidelines than actual rules now. Not to say you should ignore them entirely, but there’s a reason why it’s okay for us to eat bacon now. For more info on that, read Acts 10, preferably in the NIV translation, it’s the most accurate. Yes, the entire chapter, I want everything to be in context.

And if you want to follow those rules, you go right on ahead. As the Bible says, to each man’s faith, let it be unto him, but if you do, don’t you dare go around calling yourself a Christian because there’s already a religion that follows those rules exclusively: The Jews. No really, the Torah that makes up the Jewish Holy Book is just the first five books of the Bible, and they’re required to follow those rules.

But how does this have to do with sex? Have the rules really changed? Yes they have, and if it would please the court, for evidence I’d like to bring up a group of Christians who went to an orgy. Yeah, and you know, for all the time that parents scream and yell about violence and sex in the media, they don’t seem to have a problem with their kids’ reading the most violent and sexually explicit book ever written. Anyways, they wrote to Paul about it, and he wrote back. He was pretty pissed off at them. Not that they had participated in an orgy, oh no, but that the orgy was done as a ritual celebration to the Greek Goddess Aphrodite. Whoops. He didn’t give two shits whether they had had sex or not, but to whom the sex was dedicated to.

But to be fair to that particular church, anyone who was caught being a Christian during that time were usually imprisoned, put to death, or worse (Like that stopped Paul, he died at least 11 times. John, who wrote Revelations, was left on a deserted island because people got tired of killing him.). It wasn’t until 100 AD when Constantine latched onto the religion and put into motion most of the things that have basically ruined Christianity today, including giving Christianity an “official” temple and pretty much molded Christianity into being more like the other religions of the time period, focusing more on the “mysteries” of the faith, rather than the message of the Good News of the Gospel.

That’s why I say people can be Christians and still be a hundred of other things, because real Christians who are covered by the New Covenant really only have three rules (which I covered above). So long as you have your Fire Insurance (haha), you’re good in my book. Everything else is between you and God, and none of my business.

Anyways, that covers the broad strokes, but for everything else, I’ll cover them when I get to that particular topic. For my next post I’d like to cover something a little less personal, and if I’m going to be running a blog about sexual topics, there are several, rather obvious milestones I’m going to have to cover.

Until next time, dears, this has been B00B TUB3. Be sure to follow me on Tumblr to see how my sexual transformation is going! 🙂

One thought on “Identifications: The Big One

  1. I’ve read this twice now. This is excellent and informative. I need some of this background for a little project of mine. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

